Claire Fullerton – Author of “A Portal in Time”, a Paranormal/Historical Romance!

Standard

An Open Door

 Years ago, I wrote a novel set on the west coast of Ireland about a twenty-five year old American female who moved from Los Angeles into a rural, Irish village. It was a fish-out-of water story filled with insightful narrative concerning Irish cultural nuances that also contained a budding love story. I adored the story I created, lived with the characters and the sense of place in my head for close to two years then decided to look for an agent. No avail. Forever. Then it hit me: I’m an unknown author and I need to find my proverbial open door that will grant me permission to keep writing! I decided to park what I called “my Irish book” and sat down to write the kind of novel I would really love to read: one that would be unusual, a suspenseful page turner that would be unpredictable and keep the reader guessing. I wanted to write the novel that defied genre and give readers something to really think about when they finished the book. I wanted to write more than a good story, I wanted to hand readers a question with which they could consider their own life without the book being pushy or overt.  I put every ounce of my creative imagination into the novel, and titled it, “A Portal in Time.”  Next, I looked for a publisher that would understand the vision, and found it in Vinspire Publishing. Behold my open door! Everything I could hope for, I found in Vinspire, and joining its ranks is like joining a team that does things for all the right reasons. The learning curve I have enjoyed: the support, editing phase, the promotional education, has been invaluable, and I was so pleased, I decided to rewrite my Irish book ONE MORE TIME and humbly submit it to my new publishing home.  Then I waited patiently. Three months later, I was offered a contract by Vinspire, and my Irish book, now entitled, “Dancing to an Irish Reel” will be out in early 2015. All of this goes to show that each writer has their own unique path to their open door, and the task is to never give up hope and keep writing.
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7388895.Claire_Fullerton/blog
www.clairefullerton.com
http://www.amazon.com/A-Portal-Time-Claire-Fullerton/dp/0989063224/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1399496777&sr=8-1&keywords=a+portal+in+time
https://www.facebook.com/pages/A-Portal-in-Time/652046314828696
BIO.  Claire Fullerton is the author of Paranormal/Historical Romance, “A Portal in Time.” Her second novel, “Dancing to an Irish Reel” will be published in March, 2015. She is a three-time, award winning essayist, a three-time contributor to the “Chicken Soup for the Soul” book series, a one-time newspaper columnist, and a contributor to numerous magazines. She hails from Memphis, Tn. and now divides her time between Malibu and Carmel, Ca.
