Guest Post – Steph, author of “Hunters”

Standard

Writing on Coffee Breaks

 

Yes, you heard me right. Not writing with coffee breaks, as in stopping your work for a minute to get a delicious cup of coffee to fuel your muse. I’m talking about writing while you’re supposedly on coffee breaks from doing something else. Like working.

 

The best advice I’ve received about writing a book is to just sit down and start typing. The thing is, what if you don’t have the time to do that? Take me for example. I work from 9 am (sometimes 8-8:30 am) to 8 pm (sometimes 9, 10, 11 pm, 12 am). Most of the times, I work on my lunch break just so I can actually leave at 8 and get home where, for a full 3 hours, I try to have a life. The weekends are usually reserved to sleeping, housework and, again, trying to have a life.

 

And then there’s writing… my love. Which for the past year has taken a big back seat. An important part of writing is getting into the zone. That’s very hard to do when you have to think about other things all the time. And it hurts.

 

This post is not meant to be a pity party, but empowerment. You know how other people get cigarette or coffee breaks? I take short writing breaks when I feel like it. True, it’s hard to write an entire scene or to do your best since your muse is probably hibernating, but it’s a start. I’ve decided to cut away some of my work time and just write.

 

Have I succeeded? Well, not yet. I’ve just realized I need this change unless I want my writing career snuffed in the bud, so I’m taking it slow. So far, I’m editing. I plan on a chapter per day. Sure, I don’t make it most of the times. But the thing about balancing a career, a family and writing is to never give up and at least try.

 

So here are a few tips when you have been reduced to writing on coffee breaks:

* Never forget why you started writing in the first place.

* Don’t see writing as work – it’s a treat meant to energize you.

* If you really don’t feel like writing, don’t. Whatever you do, you shouldn’t become resentful toward your characters or your work.

* Plan your scene while you have a bit of free time – procrastination, real coffee break, traveling – it makes writing it down much easier.

* Pat yourself on the back each time you manage to meet your writing goal for the day – you did a good job and deserve your reward.
So for all you workaholics out there – there is hope and there is no excuse. Get to writing!

